Hi Everybody,

As of today, I have officially been in Denmark for three whole months. And I am still in love with this amazing country!

I know I haven’t written and I totally am going to make an effort to write more. I want to try to update at least once a week.

So to make things easy, I will divide what has been going on for the past month or so into categories:

School: It has been great! I have a ton of friends and my class is so nice. It is going to be tough to go back to American school after I have experienced such a relaxed atmosphere here. I am actually writing this post in school. I had a bit of a tough time with my French teacher here (she didn’t seem to realize that I am an exchange student and am not fluent in French or Danish quite yet) but we sorted things out. I am in a language class with the one other exchange student in my school. We meet weekly with a teacher here and learn how to to speak Danish. It has been helping my Danish a lot. My class is also the most helpful class in the world. I feel soooo lucky to have these people who I can count on. I do most of the English, French, and some Danish assignments. I try to pay attention but sometimes, when you cant understand natural geografi, you want to just go to sleep. But I dont. I go on skype instead 😉

Language: The language is really tough sometimes. I feel like I am learning fast, but some days I really feel discouraged.  I understand about half and sometimes more of regular conversation and almost all if somebody is speaking slowly. I can also read a ton. My main weakness is speaking. I am trying to speak more and more. It just seems so impossible sometimes to learn a whole language. I also find that my English has also gotten a TON worse. I rarely make sense anymore. Before, I sometimes made sense when I was talking but now…not at all! Also, learning a language like I am in extremely exhausting. At night, I feel like I have been doing nothing but calculus all day long. My brain just can’t think by the time I go to bed. Total immersion=total exhaustion.

Family: I LOVE MY FAMILY! They have been SO kind to me. I am so lucky to have had such an amazing first family. I feel so comfortable with them. Being with them has been so great. Their house truly feels like my house and they really do feel like a part of my family. Once I got homesick and when I told them, they said “Just know that we are SO pleased to have you. So many people here are so happy to know you.” They are the kindest people. When I had problems with my French teacher, they called and sorted it out. My host mom buys me Oreos whenever she sees them. I regularly request spaghetti for dinner and she always makes it. I love them so much. I am changing families on the 25th of November. I am not really sad to leave my current family because I know for a fact that my next family is just as perfect. 🙂

Health: I get sick here on a regular basis. I think it is because there are so many new germs here which I have not been exposed to or something…But anyways I have had a ton of colds which last only a few days, a few sore throats, and a KILLER FLU. One morning I woke up feeling sick, and let me just say I spent the next few hours dying on the bathroom floor. My host parents took such good care of me, even though it was a bit awkward to have my host dad bring a bucket in my room…

Activities: I took my first train ride the other day!!!!! It was really awesome. On Friday I left for a town called Holbaek. Rotary had organized an event for ALL the exchange students in Denmark. I was really excited to see everybody again. I was reunited with my best friend, Andrea. We spent the weekend being awkward with each other and getting into really awkward situations. Every time we are together, the most awkward and embarrassing things happen. We love just being antisocial and laying in bed in the corner eating and acting strange. Andrea and I decided we were going to sing “Lean On Me” for the talent show during the weekend Rotary event….So we spent ALL day getting ready. We got about 18 people to agree to sing it with us. We were PUMPED. So when the show rolls around, we are sitting at our table waiting for our names to get called. We heard nothing…SO the show ends and we realize that our act got cut! It was a depressing moment.

Two weekends ago, Andrea came to visit me. We went to the aquarium where we acted like we had mental problems the entire time…We also ate at McDonalds..and Burger King…twice. We went to the movies to see Paranormal Activity 2…Andrea was literally screaming and throwing popcorn all over me the entire time. She was holding my hand and almost snapped my arm in half. I think we embarrass whoever we are with. We have a tendency to take pictures of our food. My host brother and his friend were just dying when they decided to take us to Burger King and we ended up just taking pictures of us eating our burgers. We are SO cool.

I also had  a school vacation. I had a week off school! It was the best. I went to a summerhouse with my host parents. They took me to Ribe which is the oldest town in Denmark. We went to the Viking museum and I saw some truly amazing things. My host dad and I got lost in this medieval church…We ended up accidently stumbling upon a class of French carpenter’s apprentices and we got to see a part of the church which the public is not allowed to see. We saw original wood from the 1200s and we even got to climb up an original tower. I guess it is really rare to be able to go up in that part of the church…We are special!!! I had a great vacation! 

So I am still having an amazing time. Of course I really miss home sometimes. I really try not to think about being home…There are tiny things that I really miss that might sound ridiculous. I miss coming home on cold Massachusetts days from school and walking into my warm house. I miss eating dinner with my parents and watching Netflix with them on the weekends. I miss shopping and dying of laughter with Gabby. I miss my bed and drinking my tea on the bus as I freeze to death. But I would not go home right now. I love it here too much. I have tried to control the homesickness, and I have not cried or anything because of it…It just is like this almost constant ache sometimes.

I have a lot of free time during school and decided to maybe start sending letters or something!!! So if you want to write to me, just send me an email at : emmajoyyy@gmail.com and I will give you my address. I will also send postcards or whatnot. 🙂

I will update next week!!!!! If you have any questions or want to know anything, just comment and i will get back to you with an answer or whatnot!!! 🙂

Right now I am working on having a site other than my facebook where I can upload all my pictures. So I will edit this post when I arrange that. 🙂

-Emma

Denmark 209

Me in Ribe.

